Sunday, Dec 10 2023
All Cities
Choose Your City
'The power of the taiga... perhaps only migratory birds know where it ends'
Anton Chekhov, 1890

Far East gets new time zone - as Siberia switches to permanent winter time

By The Siberian Times reporter
22 July 2014

Russia will have 11 time zones instead of the current nine, with Siberia's Kemerovo region moving one hour further from Moscow.

The number of time zones from the Baltic to the Pacific in Russia rises to 11. Picture from Vladivostok: Alexander Khitrov

President Vladimir Putin on Tuesday signed a new law which means the country will turn the clocks back on 26 October, and not turn the forward next spring. 

The move changes the current system - enacted by premier Dmitry Medvedev when he was president - of 'permanent summer time'.

But it makes other key alternations to the clocks, too. 

Kemerovo region in Siberia will move to four hours ahead of Moscow, rather than the current three. It will no longer be on the same time as Novosibirsk.

The number of time zones from the Baltic to the Pacific in Russia rises to 11.

In future,  Kamchatka Territory and the Chukotka Autonomous Area - to the east of Siberia - will be in a new time zone nine hours ahead of Moscow, instead of eight as present. The other new time zone, one hour ahead of Moscow, is for the Udmurtian Republic and Samara Region.

Add your comment

We welcome a healthy debate, but do not accept offensive or abusive comments. Please also read 'Siberian Times' Privacy Policy



Add your comments

The views expressed in the comments above are those of our readers. 'Siberian Times' reserves the right to pre-moderate some comments.

Control code*

Type the code

* obligatory



The Bank of Russia official exchange rates of foreign currencies